mini gardeners

inspiring gardening projects for children

Alpine Strawberry Seedlings

2 Comments

alpine strawberry seedlings

Am always on the look out for ideas to entice my children to spend more time at the allotment, and the latest weapon in my armoury is alpine strawberries.

These are miniature strawberries packed full of flavour that many adults find tedious to harvest – partly due their size and partly due to the fact that they crop little and often, compared with full sized strawberries which often have a bumper crop over a few weeks.

My cunning plan is to edge a whole bed with these dainty berries to provide a distraction at every allotment visit during the summer.  And because I need a lot of plants I’m growing them from seed.

Well so far, so good.  Two and a half weeks after sowing plenty of little seedlings have emerged.  Just waiting for the second set of leaves to appear before transplanting them.   I’m growing a cultivar called Mignonette (Fragaria vesca ‘Mignonette” if you want the full name) which apparently has good flavour but may not be quite so prolific as others.  Oh, and Thomson and Morgan say they’re perfect to pop into a glass of champagne.  What’s not to love?

2 thoughts on “Alpine Strawberry Seedlings

  1. I detect harmonious energies here– I think it’s the champagne and a propensity toward ‘cunning plans’ and your instincts about kids and gardens. And lists!

    • Ahhh yes, you can never have too many cunning plans or lists! I love reading your blog – your writing always makes me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

