mini gardeners

inspiring gardening projects for children

Balloons or spiders?

2 Comments

spider's web on window

Oprah Winfrey has an irrational fear of balloons.  I know this because I pick up all sorts of useful information listening to the car radio on the school run.

I’m very comfortable around balloons but I’m not keen on spiders and I seem to have passed this irrational fear on to my daughters.

Late summer is not a good time for us arachnophobes. Everywhere you turn in the garden there’s a spider’s web. Plus the entire spider population of west London is now using our house as a meeting place. Or so it feels. Thank goodness I’m not a single parent otherwise I wouldn’t be able to get through the front door for upturned glasses.

And to add insult to injury, we came down to breakfast this morning and a huge spider had created an elaborate web just outside our kitchen window (photo above). I think they’re mocking us. I feel certain they’re running all over our faces while we sleep.

2 thoughts on “Balloons or spiders?

  1. What a beautiful photo. You captured it perfectly.

    • Thank you, I think it had just rained before I took the photo so the web was nicely highlighted. Frost or snow would have made it look even better… but we’ll have to wait a while longer for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

