mini gardeners

inspiring gardening projects for children

Teeny Tiny Gardening

2 Comments

Teeny Tiny Gardening Book

‘Teeny Tiny Gardening’ by Emma Hardy (published by Cico Books) is not a children’s gardening book but it contains lots of projects that would be perfect for attempting with children.

Even if you don’t try any of the projects, the book is a delight to browse with its beautifully styled photographs and clear step-by-step instructions.  There’s something very appealing about small, bite-sized gardening projects, giving you the feeling that you could achieve great things before you’ve even finished breakfast.

Some of the projects I’ll be adding to our must-try list are:

Cacti in glasses from Teeny Tiny Gardening

Simple but inspired; a fresh approach to displaying cacti and much more attractive than the usual arrangement of a few random cacti in non-matching pots on a dusty windowsill. My daughters already have a small collection of cacti each – they’re great plants for children (and adults) who aren’t too good at remembering to water –  and displaying them like this will be a simple step. These would also make lovely little gifts.

guttering garden by Teeny Tiny Gardening

I’ve seen vegetable seedlings growing in guttering before and I really like these painted pieces of guttering attached to the side of a shed. Great if you have limited space and I’m thinking they could also be used for growing lettuce in a school garden.

And my absolute favourite;

green roof birdhouse from Teeny Tiny Gardening

I’ve been toying with the idea of putting a green roof on our garden shed for some time but have been put off by the fact that I’d need to strengthen the shed with internal batons first.  And woodwork is not one of my strong points; I nearly cut my finger off in one of the first woodwork lessons at school and things haven’t improved much since then.  But the instructions say that only basic woodwork skills are needed and a slightly rough finish adds to the overall charm, so I’m very tempted to give it a go. Watch this space.

Not all of the projects in the book are to my taste (the planted suitcase and chair for example are a bit too contrived for me and won’t be finding a home in my garden) but with 35 projects there’s something for everyone. Overall a rather charming little book and a big thumbs up from us.

2 thoughts on “Teeny Tiny Gardening

  1. Thanks for this review, always good to know of new books on the shelf. However, I have to say that I’ve reviewed many of these kinds of books, primarily aimed for new gardeners, balcony gardeners, junior gardeners and the same ideas just go round and round. The guttering garden was first mooted by Alex Mitchell in her book Edible Balcony, Dawn Isaac covered a lot of these ideas in her book (also by Cico last year) Garden Crafts for Children, Isabelle Palmer wrote ‘The Balcony Gardener’ and my neighbour Debbie Schneebeli-Morrell was in print with Container Gardening several years ago. All of these people are gardeners when not writing so have trialled their ideas “in the field” as it were. Not to be negative about this – it is undoubtedly a beautiful book to look at which is Emma Hardy’s area of expertise – I do love the cactus tray and perhaps this is a craft book wrapped up to appeal to gardeners – and let’s not forget that Christmas is around the corner.

    • Hi Caro, yes I have to agree with you; it’s rare to come across totally new ideas for gardening projects but I’m still a sucker for a well-designed and beautifully presented book. I like pinterest too for gardening inspiration – I could spend hours looking at all those fabulous photographs. I know and like all the books you mentioned with the exception of the Container Gardening book written by your neighbour, I must track that one down and have a look!

Leave a Reply

