mini gardeners

inspiring gardening projects for children

When it rains, it pours

4 Comments

grow your own stripy courgettes

I tried to convince my daughters we were having snake for dinner last night but they rolled their eyes and groaned “not courgettes AGAIN”.

Yes, it’s that time of year when the courgettes are coming in thick and fast. I’ve now exhausted my repertoire of courgette recipes, been through the  chop-them-up-very-small-and-sneak-them-in-everything phase, given away as many as possible (I think people are starting to avoid me) and yet there are still courgettes left over.

All this despite growing only a modest two plants this year.

In spring it’s always tempting to sow more seed because the summer courgette glut is a distant memory and they are so ridiculously easy to grow – provided you have a reasonable amount of space in a sunny spot and you can get the young plants to survive any slug and snail attacks. I swear by crushed eggshells, applied regularly in a circular barrier around the small plants.

There’s only one thing for it, time to search for a recipe for chocolate courgette cake. Let’s hope it calls for more than one courgette.

4 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours

  1. You need a spiralizer, google it, they are all the rage!

  2. Lucky you! I wish I’d planted more courgettes! I grew four plants a couple of years ago and was deluged. This year I have only one but have found so many recipes that I want to try that I wish I’d grown more now. Two is the way to go, definitely – even if it means having ‘snake’ for dinner! (I made a delicious lasagne a couple of days back, with ratatouille instead of a white sauce – a bit hit with the family and friends.)

  3. I shouldn’t complain, it’ll all be over in a few weeks and I’ll be mourning the lack of courgettes. Someone suggested I try the Riverford recipe for chocolate courgette cake – http://www.riverford.co.uk/recipes/view/recipe/chocolate-courgette-cake – and as it uses 450g of courgettes I’ll be trying that next! I like the sound of your lasagne, especially as it avoids having to make a white sauce, will try that too.

Leave a Reply

